Shear Relief

I’m very happy that my paper was accepted for publication in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A. It took a long time from performing the experiment to presenting the results, mainly because I needed to repeat the analysis which was something I wasn’t able to make time for until I had to submit the thesis.

Surface relief caused by shear transformation of bainite

Surface relief caused by shear transformation of bainite

In the paper atomic force microscopy is used to measure the shear component of extremely thin plates of bainitic ferrite in superbainite. The shear component is surprisingly large compared to the value we expected of 0.23–0.28 based on previous experiments carried out after transformation at higher temperatures (such as the results by Swallow and Bhadeshia).

It seems like the higher strain may help to explain why the bainitic ferrite plates are so thin and slender. It would now be really interesting to test if that is true or not, which is something I couldn’t really do by looking at the TEM and SEM images I have already.

More details on my web-page at Mathew Peet| Papers| Surface Relief Due to Bainite Transformation at 200°C

Article is currently available electronically by using DOI

3 Responses

  1. I have read your paper. It brainstorming my mind. Congratulations.

  2. Of corse of questions!

  3. This paper was selected as an Editors Choice so it is available as Open Access from Springer.

Leave a Reply

